BOSTON RED SOX 1983

Game

Day

Date

BOS

Opponent

 

RS

RA

INN

Record

Winning Pitcher

Losing Pitcher

Save

Game Notes

47 Wed 1 June H Chicago L 3 4 17 25-22 Lamp (5-2) Aponte (1-3)   Sox ties game with 1-out single by Boggs in 9th
  Thu 2 June   OFF                  
48 Fri 3 June @ Minnesota W 10 8   26-22 Boyd (1-0) Williams (2-4) Johnson (1) Armas & Yastrzemski drive in 3 runs each
49 Sat 4 June @ Minnesota L 3 8   26-23 Viola (2-5) Eckersly (0-6)   Evans' 16th HR in 7th is a band box HR (6=1)
50 Sun 5 June @ Minnesota L 4 6   26-24 Davis (4-1) Stanley (1-1)   Stanley gives up GW 3-run in bottom of 9th
51 Mon 6 June H Detroit L 7 8   26-25 Berenguer (3-2) Johnson (0-3)   Armas & Yastrzemski drive in 3 runs each
52 Tue 7 June H Detroit L 0 10   26-26 Wilcox (8-3) Tudor (7-2)   Sox hit into 5 DPs.
53 Wed 8 June H Detroit W 4 1   27-26 Boyd (2-0) Morris (9-3) Stanley (10) Boyd, 8 IP, 4 Hits, 2 BBs, 2 Ks
54 Thu 9 June H Detroit W 6 5   28-26 Eckersley (1-6) Petry (6-6) Stanley (11) Eckersley wins 1st game in 9 starts
55 Fri 10 Jun H Baltimore L 1 4   28-27 Davis (7-3) Hurst (7-3) T. Martinez (9) Evans's hit solo HR (17) in 7th for Red Sox only run
56 Sat 11 Jun H Baltimore L 2 9   28-28 McGregor (9-2) Ojeda (4-3)   Evans's 2-run HR (18) in 9th for Red Sox only run
57 Sun 12 Jun H Baltimore L 7 15   28-29 D. Martinez (7-2) Tudor (7-3)   HRs: Armas (21) & Evans (19)
  Mon 13 Jun   OFF                  
58 Tue 14 Jun @ Detroit L 2 3   28-30 Petry (7-6) Brown (3-6) Lopez (9) Brown CG, 6 hits, 0 ER
59 Wed 15 Jun @ Detroit W 11 9   29-30 Eckersley (2-6) Rozema (2-4) Stanley (12) Rice 3 RBI, HR#11 & Boggs 4 RBI, HR#1
60 Thu 16 Jun @ Detroit L 5 8   29-31 Berenguer (4-2) Hurst (7-4) Gumpert (2) RARE PLAY: 7th inning, Jurak singles to RF, 2 runs score and Jurak takes 3rd on Wilson's error.
61 Fri 17 Jun @ Baltimore W 10 1   30-31 Ojeda (5-3) D. Martinez (7-3)   3 HRs: Armas 2 (22, 23), 4 RBI & Rice (12), 2 RBI
62 Sat 18 Jun @ Baltimore L 3 5   30-32 Boddicker (6-1) Tudor (7-4)   Armas thrown out at home in 1st; Yastrzemski thrown out at 3rd on hard hit single by Jurak in 4th. Evans 2-run double in 7th.
63 Sun 19 Jun @ Baltimore W 14 8   31-32 Brown (4-6) Palmer (1-2)   Sox lead 13-0 after 3, hit 5 HRs: Armas 2 (24,25), 7 RBI; Yastrzemski (4), 4 RBI; Stapleton (5), 1 RBI, Allenson (2), 1 RBI.
64 Mon 20 Jun H Cleveland W 6 3   32-32 Eckersley (3-6) Eichelberger (2-6) Stanley (13) Boston scores all 6 runs in 4th, first 6 batters reach base; 7 of 10 hits made in 4th.
65 Tue 21 Jun H Cleveland W 5 3   33-32 Hurst (8-4) Blyleven (1-8)   Hurst pitches 8 shutout innings after giving up 3 in 1st. Armas, 2-4, 3B, HR (26), 3 RBI.
66 Wed 22 Jun H Cleveland W 7 2   34-32 Ojeda (6-3) Barker (6-5)   Red Sox takes 2-1 lead in 4th on doubles by Evans, Armas & Boggs. Armas, 2-4, 2B, HR (27), 4 RBI.
67 Thu 23 Jun H Cleveland W 7 4   35-32 Clear (1-0) Easterly (0-1)   Armas hits 1-out walk off GRAND SLAM (28) in 9th
68 Fri 24 Jun H New York W 5 4   36-32 Stanley (2-1) Frazier (6-4)   Stapleton's 2-out double scores Evans from first in bottom of 9th.
69 Sat 25 Jun H New York L 14 11   36-33 Howell (1-4) Eckersley (3-7) Murray (1) Down by 10 runs, Red Sox 7-run 9th inning rally comes up short.  Armas, 3-5, HR (29), 3 RS, 3 RBI
70 Sun 26 Jun H New York W 5 3   37-33 Hurst (9-4) Keough (0-1) Stanley (14) Yastrzemski's GRAND SLAM HR (5) caps 5-run Boston 1st.
  Mon 27 Jun @ Cleveland Rain Out          
71 Tue 28 Jun @ Cleveland W 6 1   38-33 Ojeda (7-3) Sutcliife (9-5)   Red Sox break game open with 5-run 6th. Rice, 2-4, 2B, HR (14), 3 RBI
72 Wed 29 Jun (DH1) @ Cleveland W 6 5 12 39-33 Aponte (2-3) Easterly (0-2) Stanley (15) Red Sox score 2-runs in 9th ties game 5-5.  Armas hits 2-out solo HR (30) in 12th. Yastrzemski, 3-5. 2B, solo HR (6), 2 RBI.
73 Wed 29 Jun  (DH2) @ Cleveland L 0 3   39-34 Sorensen (7-5) Brown (4-7)   Red Sox held to 6 hits and hits into 4 DPs in team's 6th shutout loss.
  Thu 30 Jun   OFF                  
74 Fri 1 July @ New York W 17 16 13 40-34 Stanley (3-1) Frazier (6-5)   Red Sox blows 5 run lead in 9th; Jurak's 2-out single in 13th scores Remy from 3rd.
75 Sat 2 July @ New York W 14 7   41-34 Hurst (10-4) Murray (1-1)   Rice, 3-5, double, HR (15), 4 RBI. Red Sox breaks 6-6 tie with 5-runs in 6th.
76 Sun 3 July @ New York W 22 1   42-34 Ojeda (8-3) Rawley (1-1)   Red Sox: 28 hits.  Every starting position player had at least 1 hit & 1 RBI. Rice, 5-7, triple, HR (16), 9 RBI.
77 Mon 4 July @ New York L 1 5   42-35 Righetti (11-4) Tudor (7-5)   Boggs, 2-4, RBI single in 1st.
  Tue 5 July   OFF                  
  Wed 6 July   All-Star Game                  
  Thu 7 July   OFF                  
78 Fri 8 July H California L 2 4   42-36 Kison (5-4) Eckersley (3-8) Sanchez (6) Armas hits 31st HR, a 2-run HR in 1st.
79 Sat 9 July H California W 5 4   43-36 Stanley (4-1) Sanchez (6-2)   Red Sox score winning run in bottom of 9th on 3-straight hits; Gedman's lead off double, Remy's infield single and Bogg's single.  Sox begin game with 4 straight singles and lead 3-0 after 1st.  Remy. 4-5, 2B, RS.
80 Sun 10 July H California W 6 1   44-36 Hurst (11-4) John (7-7)   Rice, 3-4, double, HR (17), 2 RBI.  Stapleton, 2-4, HR (6), 3 RBI.
81 Mon 11 July H Seattle W 4 2   45-36 Ojeda (9-3) Moore (2-4) Stanley (16) Red Sox score all 4-runs in 2nd.  Rice, 2-4, HR (18), 3 RBI.  Ojeda, 8 IP, 6-hits, 2 ER, 3 BBs, 2Ks, wins 5 straight start.
82 Tue 12 July H Seattle W 15 3   46-36 Brown (5-7) Clark (0-3)   Armas, 3-5, HR (32), 5 RBI.  Evans, 4-5, 2 doubles, grand slam HR (20), 4 RBI.
83 Wed 13 July H Seattle W 4 0   47-36 Eckersley (4-8) Beattie (7-5)   Eckersley, 8 IP, 11 hits, 0 R, 0 BB, 7 K's.  Armas solo HR (33) leading off 2nd, Hoffman 2-run HR (3), 2 RS.  Remy HBP, INJ 2 games.
84 Thu 14 July H Oakland W 8 6   48-36 Tudor (8-5) McCattly (4-6) Stanley (17) Down 5-0, Red Sox score 3 runs in 4th and 4 runs in 5th. Gedman, 4-4, double, 3 RBI.  Rare Play: in 8th, with runner on 1st, Lopes wild throw scores Boggs but Rice is out in run down, 2-6-5-4-5.
85 Fri 15 July H Oakland W 4 2   49-36 Hurst (12-4) Codiroli (4-10) Stanley (18) Hurst strikes out 3 consecutive batters in 5th with runners on 1st and 3rd.  Stapleton, 2-3, BB, solo HR (7) in 6th.
86 Sat 16 July H Oakland W 3 2 13 50-36 Stanley (5-1) Burgmeier (1-4)   In 13th with 2 outs, Hoffman on 1st, Remy reaches 1st on error by Gross and then a 2-base throwing error to second trying to get Hoffman is wild allowing Hoffman to score winning run. Evans, 3-6, RS. 
87 Sun 17 July H Oakland L 3 4   50-37 Atherton (1-0) J. Johnson (0-4)   Evans, 1-2, 3 BB's, RBI.  Brown, 6 hits, 1 R after 7 IP, gives up game tying HR in 8th.
88 Mon 18 July @ California L 5 9   50-38 Kison (6-5) Eckersley (4-9)   Red Sox score 4 runs in 1st and 1 run in 9th.  Yastrzemski, 3-5, RS, RBI.
89 Tue 19 July @ California L 1 3   50-39 Forsch (6-10) Tudor (8-6) Sanchez (8) Evans, solo HR (21) in 4th ties game, 1-1. Red Sox hit into 3 DP's & have runner picked off.  Tudor, CG, 8 hits, 3 ER, 2 BB's, 4 K's.
90 Wed 20 July @ California W 3 0   51-39 Hurst (13-4) John (8-8)   Hurst, CG, 4 hits, 0 R, 3 BB's, 2 K's, 1st shutout, 3rd team shutout. Armas, solo HR (34) in 4th.  Nichols, 2-4, 2 doubles, RBI (20).
91 Thu 21 July @ Seattle W 10 1   52-39 Ojeda (10-3) Moore (2-6)   Hurst, CG, 4 hits, ER, 0 BB's, 6 K's.  Armas, 2-4, double, 3-run HR (35), 2 RS, 3 RBI (79, 80 & 81).  Evans, 3-5, 3-run HR (22), 2 RS, 3 RBI (58, 59 & 60).  Hoffman, 3-4, double, solo HR (4), 2 RBI (32 & 33).
92 Fri 22 July @ Seattle                  
93 Sat 23 July @ Seattle                  
94 Sun 24 July @ Seattle                  
95 Mon 25 July @ Oakland                  
96 Tue 26 July @ Oakland                  
97 Wed 27 July @ Oakland                  
  Thu 28 July   OFF                  
98 Fri 29 July H Milwaukee                  
99 Sat 30 July H Milwaukee                  
100 Sun 31 July H Milwaukee