DETROIT TIGERS 1983

 

DETROIT 1983 Schedule - April-to-May

 

Game

Day

Date

DET

Opponent

 

RS

RA

INN

Record

Winning Pitcher

Losing Pitcher

Save

Game Notes

46 Wed 1 June H Toronto W 10 2   26-20 Rozema (2-2) Clancy (4-5)   Tigers had 19 hits; Herndon, 3-5, HR (5), 4 RBI
47 Thu 2 June H Toronto W 5 4   27-20 Gumpert (1-0) Leal (4-6) Lopez (6) Wilson's 2-run HR (1) is game winner in 8th as Tigers rally for 3 runs
48 Fri 3 June @ Texas W 7 2   28-20 Morris (9-2) Smithson (0-8)   Tigers hit 5 HRs: Gibson (6), Cabell (3), Whitaker (8), Parrish (12) & Trammell (2)
49 Sat 4 June @ Texas L 3 4   28-21 Butcher (2-2) Berenguer (2-2)   Rangers win with 2-out, bottom of 9th single
50 Sun 5 June @ Texas W 6 2   29-21 Pashnick (1-0) Darwin (3-8) Gumpert (1) Tigers score 5 in 3rd; Parrish has 4 RBI
51 Mon 6 June @ Boston W 8 7 10 30-21 Berenguer (3-2) Johnson (0-3) Lopez (7) Wockenfuss' 2-out single in 10th is game winner; Parrish has 2 HRs (13 & 14) & 4 RBI
52 Tue 7 June @ Boston W 10 0   31-21 Wilcox (8-3) Tudor (7-2)   Wilcox, CG, 7-hits, 2 BBs
53 Wed 8 June @ Boston L 1 4   31-22 Boyd (2-0) Morris (9-3)   Lemon's single drives in Grubb for only Tiger run in 7th
54 Thu 9 June @ Boston L 5 6   31-23 Eckersley (1-6) Petry (6-6) Stanley (11) Tigers' unable to score tying run from 2nd with no outs in 9th
55 Fri 10 Jun H Cleveland L 2 4   31-24 Sorensen (4-4) Rozema (2-3) Easterly (1) Lemon's 6th HR in 7th drives in only Tiger runs
56 Sat 11 Jun H Cleveland W 6 3   32-24 Pashnick (2-0) Eischelberger (2-5) Lopez (8) Trammel's Grand Slam HR (4) in 7th breaks 2-2 tie
57 Sun 12 Jun H Cleveland L 0 4   32-25 Blyleven (1-7) Wilcox (8-4)   Tigers shut out for second time this season on 5-hits
58 Sun 12 Jun H Cleveland W 5 0   33-25 Morris (10-3) Barker (6-3)   Morris, CG, 2-hits, 2 BBs & 4 Ks, 3rd shutout.
  Mon 13 Jun   OFF                  
59 Tue 14 Jun @ Boston W 3 2   34-25 Petry (7-6) Brown (3-6) Lopez (9) Trammel's 2-run single in 4th is last Tiger hit but Tigers hold on for 3-2 win
60 Wed 15 Jun @ Boston L 9 11   34-26 Eckersley (2-6) Rozema (2-4) Stanley (12) Cabell hits 3-run HR (4) in 5-run 8th but Tiger rally falls short.
61 Thu 16 Jun @ Boston W 8 5   35-26 Berenguer (4-2) Hurst (7-4) Gumpert (2) Lemon's 7th HR in 5th drives in 3 runs for 7-2 lead
62 Fri 17 Jun @ Cleveland W 5 2   36-26 Morris (11-3) Barker (6-4)   Morris, 10th CG. Parrish 3-5, 3 RBI, Leach 2 RBI, Trammell 4-4, 2 RS.
63 Sat 18 Jun @ Cleveland W 5 4   37-26 Wilcox (9-4) Sutcliffe (9-4) Lopez (10) Lopez gets PH Harrah to fly out with tying run at 3rd in 9th for 4-out save.
64 Sun 19 Jun @ Cleveland L 0 2   37-27 Sorensen (5-5) Petry (7-7) Easterly (2) Tigers held to 3-hits and 10 strike outs.  Grubb pops out with 2 runners on in 9th.
  Sun 19 Jun @ Cleveland RAIN OUT         Second game of DH PPD, Rain
65 Mon 20 Jun H Milwaukee L 0 7   37-28 Porter (1-2) Rozema (2-5)   Tigers shutout for 2nd consecutive game; held to 9 hits & 2 BBs.
66 Tue 21 Jun H Milwaukee L 6 9   37-29 Haas (9-1) Berenguer (4-3) Slaton (1) Parrish, 1-4, HR (16), 2 RBI; Grubb, 1-2, HR (1), 3 RBI
67 Wed 22 Jun H Milwaukee W 4 1   38-29 Morris (12-3) Caldwell (6-7) Lopez (11) Whitaker's 3-run HR (10) in 7th is game winner. Herndon's HR (6) in 1st is wind-aided.
  Thu 23 Jun   OFF                  
68 Fri 24 Jun @ Baltimore W 4 1   39-29 Petry (8-7) D. Martinez (7-4) Lopez (12) Lemon's 2-run HR (8) in 4th; Herndon solo HR (7) in 6th.  Lopez retires Ripken with runners on 1st and 3rd on fly out to RF.
69 Sat 25 Jun @ Baltimore L 2 8   39-30 Palmer (3-1) Rozema (2-6)   Tigers trailed 7-0 after 4 innings.  Whitaker 2-5, RS, Gibson 2-3, Lemon 2-4. RBI by Cabell & Herndon.
70 Sun 26 Jun @ Baltimore W 11 6   40-30 Morris (13-3) Davis (9-4)   Herndon 3-5, 2B, HR (8), 4 RBI. Wilson, 2-run HR (3) in 4th. Parrish, 2 2Bs, 3 RBI.
  Mon 27 Jun @ Milwaukee RAIN OUT          
71 Tue 28 Jun @ Milwaukee L 5 6   40-31 Tellman (2-3) Lopez (0-1)   Tigers hit 3 HRs by Gibson (8), Lemon (9) & Whitaker (11) but lose in 9th HR.
72 Wed 29 Jun @ Milwaukee L 5 10   40-32 Sutton (9-3) Berenguer (4-4)   Gibson, 3-4, 2B, solo HR (9).
73 Thu 30 Jun @ Milwaukee L 0 5   40-33 McClure (9-4) Morris (13-4)   Cabell, 3-4, 2B.
74 Fri 1 July H Baltimore W 5 0   41-33 Wilcox (10-4) Davis (9-5)   Wilcox, CG, 4-hits, 1 BB, 4 Ks. Herndon 2-4, 2 RBI.
75 Sat 2 July H Baltimore L 2 3   41-34 McGregor (11-3) Petry (8-8) T. Martinez (12) Parrish, 3-4, double, HR (17), 2 RBI.  Tigers hit 5 doubles. Game delayed 90 minutes by rain in top of 5th with no-outs with O's leading 1-0. PH Jones grounds out to pitcher with tying run on 3rd in 9th.
76 Sun 3 July H Baltimore W 2 0   42-34 Berenguer (5-4) Davis (9-5)   Berenguer, CG, 4-hits, 4 BB, 3 Ks. Lemon, 2-3, double, RBI.  8th Tigers' shutout of the season.
  Mon 4 July H Baltimore RAIN OUT         Rescheduled as DH on 21 September (Wed.)
  Tue 5 July   OFF                  
  Wed 6 July   All-Star Game                  
  Thu 7 July   OFF                  
77 Fri 8 July H Oakland W 7 4   43-34 Petry (9-8) Conroy (2-5) Lopez (13) Tigers score 6-runs in 2nd; with 2-out and runner on 1st, Tigers hit 5 consecutive singles and then draws 2 walks, the last with bases loaded.  Lemon HBP twice in game.
78 Sat 9 July H Oakland L 2 4 11 43-35 Burgmeier (1-3) Lopez (0-2)   Parrish's 18th HR in 8th gives Tigers 2-1 lead. With 2-outs in 9th, 4-base error by Grubb ties game.  Morris, 9 IP, 6 H, 2 R, 1 ER, 2 BBs, 5 Ks, no decision.
79 Sun 10 July H Oakland W 6 3   44-35 Berenguer (6-4) Codiroli (4-9) Lopez (14) Gibson's breaks 3-3 tie with a 3-run HR in 7th.  Gibson, 3-4, double, HR (10), 4 RBI.
80 Mon 11 July H California W 2 0   45-35 Rozema (3-6) Zahn (7-4) Lopez (15) Rozema, 8 IP, 6-hits, 0 BBs, 6 Ks.  Whitaker scores first run on 4-base error by Downing in 3rd.  Herndon solo HR (9) in 6th.  Lopez strikes out Grich in 9th with runners on 2nd & 3rd.
81 Tue 12 July H California L 5 6   45-36 McLaughlin (1-2) Wilcox (10-5)   Tigers' rally falls short in 9th; Tigers score 2-runs in 9th but leaves tying run on 2nd when Gibson flies out to RF.
82 Wed 13 July H California W 4 1   46-36 Petry (10-6) Kison (5-5) Lopez (16) Tigers score 2 runs in 3rd and 4th aided by Angels' errors.  Grubb, 2-4, RBI; Herndon, 2-4, RS; Lopez earns 4-out save, gets PH Sconiers to pop out to 3rd with 2-on in 8th.
83 Thu 14 July @ Seattle L 3 5 10 46-37 Caudill (2-2) Lopez (0-3)   Tigers lose on walk off HR in 10th after Mariners ties game on 2-run HR in 9th with 2-outs.  Lemon hits 2-run HR (10) in 2nd and Wilson hits solo HR (4) in 4th.  Gibson steals 2nd (7) in 8th and tries to advance to 3rd on catcher's over throw but Mariners' SS Owen backups play and Gibson is out at 3rd.
84 Fri 15 July @ Seattle W 4 1   47-37 Berenguer (7-4) Young (11-6) Lopez (17) Berenguer, 8.2 IP, 3 hits, 1 ER, 4 BB's, 15 K's. Lopez gets tying run to ground out in 9th.  Tigers break tie in 8th with 2-out: Cabell walked, Jones stole 2nd, scored on single by Herndon.  RBI singles by Whitaker and Lemon in 9th.
85 Sat 16 July @ Seattle W 14 2   48-37 Rozema (4-6) Moore (2-5)   Tigers, 19 hits, 5 BB's.  Parrish, 3-6, 3-run HR (19) in 6 run 2nd.  Cabell, 5-6, double, 3 RS, 6 RBI.
86 Sun 17 July @ Seattle W 5 0   49-37 Wilcox (11-5) Clark (0-4)   Wilcox, 4th CG shutout, 4-hits, 2 BB's, 3 Ks. Tigers, 19 hits, BB, HB.  Whitaker, 2-4, lead off HR (12) in 1st, 2 RBI.  Herndon, 2-5, 2 RS, solo HR (10) in 5th.
87 Mon 18 July @ Oakland L 2 3   49-38 Conroy (3-6) Petry (10-9) Baker (1) Cabell, RBI triple in 1st.  Parrish, 2-4, double, RS.  Bair prevents A's from scoring insurance runs gets out of base-loaded jam with 2-outs in 7th.
88 Tue 19 July @ Oakland L 2 3 10 49-39 Atherton (2-0) Lopez (0-4)   Tigers leave bases loaded in 4ht & 8th.  Tigers rally in 8th to tie on H&R double by Grubb.  A's score in 10th after 2-outs on single, SB, single.
89 Wed 20 July @ Oakland W 5 1   50-39 Berenguer (8-4) Codiroli (4-11)   Berenguer, CG, 5 hits, 1 ER, 3 BB's, 11 K's. Wilson, 3-5, RS, 2 RBI (36 & 37).  Whitaker, 3-5, double, 2 RS.
90 Thu 21 July (DH1) @ California L 3 4   50-40 Witt (2-4) Bailey (0-1) Sanchez (9) Wilson, 1-3, 2 RBI (38 & 39).  Fahey ejected for arguing balls and strikes in 4th. In 9th, Gibson thrown out at home on hit & run single by Leach (RP #7, FC-1)
91 Thu 21 July (DH2) @ California W 5 2 11 51-40 Lopez (1-4) Curtis (1-5)   Tigers score 3-runs after 90-minute rain delay in 11th (RP# 27, FC-2) on  Trammel, 2-run GW RBI.  Parrish, 4-4, 2 doubles, RBI (75), RS. BA .324
92 Fri 22 July @ California                  
93 Sat 23 July @ California                  
94 Sun 24 July @ California                  
  Mon 25 July   OFF                  
95 Tue 26 July H Seattle                  
96 Wed 27 July H Seattle                  
97 Thu 29 July H Seattle                  
98 Fri 29 July H Kansas City                  
99 Sat 30 July H Kansas City                  
100 Sun 31 July (DH1) H Kansas City                  
101 Sun 31 July (DH2) H Kansas City