CALIFORNIA ANGELS 1983

Game

Day

Date

CAL

Opponent

 

RS

RA

INN

Record

Winning Pitcher

Losing Pitcher

Save

Game Notes

48

We

1 June

@

New York

L

3

4

 

25-23

Guidry (7-2)

Goltz (0-1)

 

Angles rally falls short despite Grich's 2-run HR in 9th

49

Thu

2 June

@

New York

W

1

0

 

26-23

Zahn (7-3)

Righetti (8-3)

 

Angels score games only run in 7th on Beniquez's single

50

Fri

3 June

@

Milwaukee

L

1 10

 

26-24

Sutton (6-2)

Forsch (3-6)

 

RARE PLAY: Angels score their only run in 3rd. With runners on 1st & 2nd, Lynn singles to CF, scoring Beniquez, RM Jackson to 3rd on E-8, Lynn to 2nd.

51

Sat

4 June

@

Milwaukee

W

6

3

 

27-24

John (5-4)

Augustine (1-4)

Witt (3)

Angels rally for 4 runs in 7th & 2 in 8th. Angels pull off triple play in 8th. Simmons lined out to RJ Jackson, then tagged Cooper at 1st & threw to Foli at 2nd to get Yount

52

Sun

5 June

@

Milwaukee

L 2 12

 

27-25

Haas (8-0)

Travers (1-1)

 

DeCinces 2-run HR (8) in 3rd accounts for all Angels' runs.

53

Mon

6 June

@

Milwaukee

L 3 4

 

27-26

McClure (7-3)

Goltz (0-2)

Ladd (11)

Angels hit into 3 DPs

54 Tue 7 June

H

Chicago

L

5 19   27-27

Dotson (9-1)

Witt (1-2)

 

RARE PLAY: Game delayed 90 minutes in bottom of 6th.
55 Wed 8 June

H

Chicago L 3 7   27-28

Koosman (2-2)

Forsch (3-7)

  Angels score 3-run in 3rd.
56 Thu 9 June

H

Chicago L 2 3   27-29 Burns (3-5) John (5-5) Barojas (11) After 2 outs, Angels score 2 runs on Boone's double. 3 DPs kills rallies in 5th, 6th & 8th.
57 Fri 10 Jun

H

Toronto W 6 5   28-29

Brown (1-0)

Moffitt (1-3)

  Grich's 2-out single in bottom of 9th scores DeCinces from 2nd who beats throw home
58 Sat 11 Jun

H

Toronto L 10 17   28-30

Moffitt (2-3

Hassler (0-2)

  Angels score 6 in 8th to tie but Jays score 7 in 9th.
59 Sun 12 Jun

H

Toronto W 4 3   29-30

Sanchez (5-1)

Stieb (11-3)

 

Angels rally for 3 in 8th. Wilfong's 2-run HR (1) ties game at 3-3.  Foil's single gives Angels 4-3 lead.
60 Mon 13 Jun

@

Chicago W 7 2   30-30 Forsch (4-7) Burns (3-6)   Lynn 2-4, 2B, HR (7 ), 4 RBI.
  Tue 14 Jun @ Chicago RAIN OUT          
61 Wed 15 Jun @ Chicago L 0 9   30-31 Hoyt (7-4) John (5-6)   Third time Angels have been shut out.
  Thu 16 Jun   OFF                  
62 Fri 17 Jun

@

Toronto L 2 16   30-32 Stieb (12-3) Travers (1-2)   DeCinces' 2-run HR (11th) in 4th are only Angel's runs. Angels' pitchers give up 5 HRs.
63 Sat 18 Jun

@

Toronto W 8 2   31-32 Forsch (5-7) Clancy (6-6)   Reg Jackson 3-5, 2B, 2 RBI. Angels receive 9 walks.
64 Sun 19 Jun

@

Toronto L 6 7   31-33 Leal (5-8) Goltz (0-3) Moffitt (9) Angels' 4-run rally in 9th falls short; Boone strikes out with bases loaded.
65 Mon 20 Jun

@

Texas W 1 0   32-33 John (6-6) Tanana (6-3)   John, CG, 3-hits, 2 BBs, 5 Ks.  Sconiers RBI single in 3rd.
66 Tue 21 Jun

@

Texas L 3 7   32-34 Darwin (6-8) McLaughlin (0-1) Schmidt (1) Angels' score 2-runs  in 3rd on a double by Reg Jackson to LF but Jackson is thrown out trying for a triple, 7-6-5.
66 Wed

22 Jun

@

Texas L 1 3   32-35 Honeycutt (5-6) Forsch (5-8) Butcher (1) Adams' 1st HR in 2nd is only Angels' run. Forsch is emergency starter on 3-days rest in place of Travers.
67 Thu 23 Jun

@

Kansas City L 5 6   32-36 Black (5-1) Travers (1-3) Quisenberry (13) Angels had an early 3-1 after 2 innings thanks to 2 Royals' outfield errors.
68 Fri 24 Jun

@

Kansas City W 7 6   33-36 John (7-6) Renko (2-7) Sanchez (5) Clark's Grand Slam HR (2) in 8th gives Angels 7-4 lead. Ron Jackson solo HR (4) in 3rd ties game at 3-3.
69 Sat 25 Jun

@

Kansas City L 7 12   33-37 Creel (2-2) Witt (1-3)   Lynn (8) & Wilfong (2) hit back-to-back HRs in 4-run 7th cuts KC lead to 12-6
  Sun 26 Jun

@

Kansas City RAIN OUT          
70 Mon 27 Jun H Texas L 2 3   33-38 Honeycutt (6-6) Kison (4-4)   RBI: Lynn & Clark
72 Tue 28 Jun H Texas L 0 1   33-39 Hough (4-7) Forsch (5-9)   Angels hit into 9-2-6 DP in 2nd.  With runners on 1st & 2nd, no outs, Grich singles to RF, Lynn thrown out at home and Grich is thrown out at 2nd trying to go to 2nd.
73 Wed 29 Jun H Texas L 3 6 12 33-40 Butcher (5-2) Curtis (1-3)   Valentine, 2-4, solo HR (3) . Sconiers, 4-6, 2B.
74 Thu 30 Jun H Texas L 1 3   33-41 Tanana (7-4) Witt (1-4)   Foli's RBI single in 2nd ties game, 1-1.
74 Fri 1 July H Kansas City L 5 13   33-42 Blue (4-5) McLaughlin (0-2)   Burleson, 3-5, 2 RS, 2 RBI, wind-aided HR (1) in 6th.
75 Sat 2 July H Kansas City L 5 8 12 33-43 Armstrong (4-2) Curtis (1-4)   Downing, 4-4, 1 RBI, 2 walks; hits go ahead double in 8th,
76 Sun 3 July H Kansas City W 11 9 14 34-43 Sanchez (6-1) Quisenberry (3-2)   Angels score 2 runs after 2-outs in 14th. Grich hits 2-run HR (6) in 14th. HRs by Jackson, Ron (5), Valentine (4) & Downing (3)
77 Mon 4 July H Kansas City W 7 6   35-43 Travers (2-3) Splittorf (6-1) S. Brown (1) HRs by Grich (7), Valentine (5) & Boone (5).  Angels rally for 2 runs in 8th to lead, 7-6
  Tue 5 July   OFF                  
  Wed 6 July   All-Star Game                  
  Thu 7 July   OFF                  
78 Fri 8 July

@

Boston W 4 2   36-43 Kison (5-4) Eckersley (3-8) Sanchez (6) 2-run HRs by Lynn (9) & Burleson (2) over the 'Green Monster'.
79 Sat 9 July

@

Boston L 4 5   36-44 Stanley (4-1) Sanchez (6-2)   Downing, 3-4, BB, 2 HR ( 4 & 5), 3 RBI.  Grich, 3-4, 2B, HR (8), 1 RBI.  Angels fail to score in 9th with runners on 1st & 3rd with 1-out and with bases loaded with 2-outs.
80 Sun 10 July

@

Boston L 1 6   36-45 Hurst (11-4) John (7-7)   Carew's lead off HR (1) is the Angels' only run.
81 Mon 11 July

@

Detroit L 0 2   36-46 Rozema (3-6) Zahn (7-4) Lopez (15) Grich strikes out with tying runners on 2nd & 3rd to end game.  Angels held to 7 hits, 8 LOB.  Downing's 4-base error allows Tigers 1st run in 3rd.
82 Tue 12 July

@

Detroit W 6 5   37-46 McLaughlin (1-2) Wilcox (10-5) Sanchez (7) Wilfong, 2-3, solo HR (3); Jackson, Ron, 1-3, solo HR (6).  Sanchez strands tying run on 2nd after Tigers rally for 2-runs in 9th.
83 Wed 13 July

@

Detroit L 1 4   37-47 Petry (10-6) Kison (5-5) Lopez (16) Lynn's HR (10) leading off 8th is the Angels' only run.
84 Thu 14 July

@

Baltimore L 1 12   37-48 McGregor (13-3) Forsch (5-10)   Foli, 2-4, RBI double scores Carew from 1st in 5th is the Angels' only run.
85 Fri 15 July

@

Baltimore W 6 0   38-48 John (8-7) Boddicker (8-3)   John, 8 IP, 0 R, 3 BB's, 2 Ks.  Grich, 2-4, RS, 2-run HR (9) in 2nd.  O'Berry, 2-4, almost had 2-run HR when ball bounced back for single (5=7). O'Berry thrown out after singling to RF when he took a wide turn at 1st.
86 Sat 16 July

@

Baltimore W 6 1   39-48 Zahn (8-4) D. Martinez (7-7)   Zahn, CG, 5 hits 1 ER, 3 BB's, 3 Ks.  Downing, 3-4, BB, 3 RS, 2-run HR (6) in 5th.  Grich, 2-4, 2 doubles, 2 RBI.  Grich's double in 4th drives in run, error by Young scores second run, Grich taking 3rd, and Grich is thrown out at home, 9-4-2.
87 Sun 17 July

@

Baltimore L 1 14   39-49 Ramirez (2-2) McLaughlin (1-3)   Lynn, 2-4, double, RS.
88 Mon 18 July H Boston W 9 5   40-49 Kison (6-5) Eckersley (4-9)   Angels rally after being down 4-0 after top of 1st.  Back-to-back HRs by Lynn & Downing in 6th.  Lynn, 2-5, 2-run HR (11), Downing, 2-4, solo HR (7).  Burleson, 2-3, 2-run HR (3) is wind-aided (6=1, M pitcher), 3 RBI.
89 Tue 19 July H Boston W 3 1   41-49 Forsch (6-10) Tudor (8-6) Sanchez (8) Grich, 2-run HR (10) in 6th breaks 1-1 tie. Sanchez gets Miller to hit into game ending 5-4-3 DP.  Burleson, 1-3, BB, RBI (10) single in 3rd.
90 Wed 20 July H Boston L 0 3   41-50 Hurst (13-4) John (8-8)   Angels, 4 hits, 3 BBs, 6 LOB.  Sixth time Angels have been shutout.
91 Thu 21 July (DH1) H Detroit W 4 3   42-50 Witt (2-4) Bailey (0-1) Sanchez (9) Downing, 2-4, 2 RBI (23 & 24).  Carew, 3-4, 2 RS (43 & 44), Carew batting .375. 
92 Thu 21 July (DH2) H Detroit L 5 2 11 42-51 Lopez (1-4) Curtis (1-5)   Angels score 2-runs in 8th ties game.  Go ahead run Boone thrown out at home ends 8th.  Carew, 3-4, BB, SB (3), Carew batting .380.  Wilfong, 3-5.
93 Fri 22 July H Detroit                  
94 Sat 23 July H Detroit                  
95 Sun 24 July H Detroit                  
96 Mon 25 July H Baltimore                  
97 Tue 26 July H Baltimore                  
98 Wed 27 July H Baltimore                  
  Thu 28 July   OFF                  
98 Fri 29 July H Oakland                  
100 Sat 30 July H Oakland                  
101 Sun 31 July H Oakland