CHICAGO WHITE SOX 1983

Game

Day

Date

CHI

Opponent

 

RS

RA

INN

Record

Winning Pitcher

Losing Pitcher

Save

Game Notes

46

Wed

1 June

@

Boston

W

4

3

17

31-15

Lamp (5-2)

Aponte (1-3)

 

White Sox wins it on Dybzinki's double in 17th scoring Squires.

47

Thu

2 June

H

Kansas City

W

5

4

 

32-15

Dotson (8-1)

Gura (1-7)

 

Fisk, 3-4, 2B, HR (9),  RBI.  Royals 3-run 9th inning rally falls short.

48

Fri

3 June

H

Kansas City

L

3 7

 

32-16

Creel (1-0)

Koosman (1-2)

Quisenberry (8)

Baines, 3-4, HR (6),  2 RBI. Baines' HR was wind-aided.

49

Sat

4 June

H

Kansas City

L 4 7

 

32-17

Splittorf (3-0)

Burns (2-5)

Quisenberry (9)

Kittle's 2B = 1b (4=7) in 9th

50

Sun

5 June (DH1)

H

Kansas City

L 0 5

 

32-18

Black (3-0)

Bannister (6-4)

 

Hill drops throw to tag Brett (35/66) in '66' in 5th

51

Sun

5 June (DH2)

H

Kansas City

L 1 2

 

32-19

Blue (3-4)

Hoyt (5-4)

Quisenberry (10)

White Sox held to 4 hits, only run in 4th on Paciorek's double. Hoyt: CG, 4 hits, 2 ER, 3 BBs, 4 Ks.

 

Mon

6 June

 

OFF

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

52 Tue 7 June

@

California W 19 5   33-19

Dotson (9-1)

Witt (1-2)

 

White Sox 25 hits. Baines HR (7), 4 RBI, Luzinski HR (6), 3 RBI, Fisk 4 RBI. Kittle crashes into wall & is INJ (3G) in 3rd.
53 Wed 8 June

@

California W 7 3   34-19

Koosman (2-2)

Forsch (3-7)

  RARE PLAY: 8th inning, V. Law singles pass Carew, Paciorek scores from 2nd, Hariston goes to 3rd. Carew makes wild throw to 2nd after cutoff, Hairston scores and Law to 3rd.
54 Thu 9 June

@

California W 3 2   35-19 Burns (3-5) John (5-5) Barojas (11) White Sox scores 2 in 8th on 4 straight singles for 3-2 lead.
55 Fri 10 Jun

@

Oakland W 4 2   36-19

Bannister (7-4)

Krueger (5-4)

Barojas (12) Bannister strikes out 12 in 8 innings.
56 Sat 11 Jun

@

Oakland W 7 1   37-19

Hoyt (6-4)

McCatty (2-3)

  V. Law 3-5, 3B, 3 RBI. Hoyt: CG, 3 hits, 1 ER, 1 BB, 6 Ks.
57 Sun 12 Jun (DH1)

@

Oakland W 7 1   38-19

Dotson (10-1)

Keough (1-3)

 

Kittle, 2-5, 2 HR (5,6) 2 RBI
58 Sun 12 Jun (DH2)

@

Oakland L 8 11   38-20

Codiroli (3-7)

Koosman (2-3)

Burgmeier (10)

Bernazard 2-4, HR (4) 4 RBI
59 Mon 13 Jun H California L 2 7   38-21 Forsch (4-7) Burns (3-6)   RARE PLAY: Bernazard ejected in 2nd for arguing strikes
  Tue 14 Jun H California RAIN OUT          
57 Wed 15 Jun H California W 9 0   39-21

Hoyt (7-4)

John (5-6)

  Hoyt: CG, 7 hits, 2 BB & 9 Ks. 4th team shutout.
  Thu 16 Jun   OFF                  
58 Fri 17 Jun H Oakland L 1 9   39-22

Norris (5-2)

Koosman (2-4)

 

Fletcher's triple in 9th prevents White Sox shut out.
59 Sat 18 Jun H Oakland W 4 2   40-22

Bannister (8-4)

Codiroli (3-8)

Barojas (13) Sox rally for 3-runs in 8th. Bannister 8 IP, 3 hits, 2 BB, 5 Ks.
60 Sun 19 Jun H Oakland W 9 6   41-22

Burns (4-6)

Underwood (1-5)

Lamp (1) Sox rally for 7-runs in 5th. Fisk, 2-5, HR (10), 3 RBI; V. Law 2-3, HR (3), 2 RBI
61 Mon 20 Jun H Seattle L 1 2   41-23

Beattie (4-4)

Hoyt (7-5)

Vande Berg (6) Hoyt: CG, 4 hits, 2 R, 1 BB & 4 Ks. Chicago hitters held to 4 hits.
62 Tue 21 Jun H Seattle W 3 2   42-23

Dotson (11-1)

Thomas (1-3)

 

Dybzinski bases loaded single in 6th breaks 2-2 tie. Dotson, CG, 7-hits, 2 BBs, 3 Ks.
63 Wed

22 Jun

H Seattle W 6 3   43-23

Koosman (3-4)

Perry (6-8)

Tidrow (1)

White Sox score all 6-runs in 3rd. R. Law, 2-4, 2 RBI; Fisk, HR (11), 2 RBI; Walker HR (1), 2 RBI.
64 Thu 23 Jun H Minnesota W 5 0   44-23

Bannister (9-4)

Castillo (4-6)

  Banister: CG, 8 hits, no walks, 8 Ks. Dybzinski HR (1), 1 RBI.  5th team shutout.
65 Fri 24 Jun H Minnesota

W

4

3

 

45-23

Lamp (6-2)

Lysander (5-3)

Barojas (14)

White Sox score 3 runs in 2nd after 90 min. rain delay.  V. Law, 3-4, RBI single in 8th breaks 3-3 tie.

66 Sat 25 Jun H Minnesota W 8 2   46-23

Hoyt (8-5)

Viola (2-9)

  Hoyt: CG, 4 hits, 2 ER, 1 BB & 6 Ks. Paciorek, 3-5, 2B, HR (6), 4 RBI. Baines wind-aided HR (9), 2 RBI.
66 Sun 26 Jun H Minnesota W 4 0   47-23

Dotson (12-1)

Oelkers (0-6)

 

Dotson, CG, 1-hit, 0 BBs, 7 Ks. Faced 28 batters. Gave up single with 1-out in 7th.  6th team shutout.
67 Mon 27 Jun

@

Seattle W 4 3   48-23

Tidrow (3-0)

Caudill (1-2)

Barojas (15)

White Sox rally for two runs in 9th; winning run scored on 2-out error.
68 Tue 28 Jun

@

Seattle L 1 2   48-24

Abbott (2-2)

Bannister (9-5)

Vande Berg (7) RARE PLAY: 1st, Fisk hits double to RF, Mariners RF, Cowens, runs into fence and is injured; Fisk is tagged out at 3rd, 8-4-5.
69 Wed 29 Jun

@

Seattle L 1 7   48-25

Young (11-4)

Burns (4-7)

  White Sox have bases loaded twice in 1st but only score 1 run on SF. 2 RARE PLAYS IN-A-ROW: In 7th, Cruz reaches 1st on catcher's interference. Next play, on a H&R single by Paciorek, Cruz is thrown out at 3B, 1b-to-3b.
  Thu 30 Jun @ OFF                  
71 Fri 1 July

@

Minnesota W 5 2   49-25

Hoyt (9-5)

Viola (2-10)

  Hoyt: CG, 6 hits, 2 ER, 3 BBs & 8 Ks. Hoyt 6th CG in a row.  Luzinski, 2-4, HR (8), 3 RBI.
72 Sat 2 July

@

Minnesota W 7 0   50-25

Dotson (13-1)

Schrom (4-5)

 

Dotson, CG, 2-hits, 5 BBs, 6 Ks. White Sox 5 of 6 in steals. Only CS is when Twins' rolled a '66' in 35/36 attempt.  7th team shutout.
73 Sun 3 July

@

Minnesota W 9 2   51-25

Koosman (4-4)

Castillo (4-7)

 

Baines, 6-6, double, triple, 4 RBI. R. Law, 4-5, double, 4 RS, 2 RBI, 3 SBs.
74 Mon 4 July

@

Minnesota L 5 7   51-26

Williams (5-6)

Bannister (9-6)

Whitehouse (1) R. Law, 3-5, 2 doubles; Fisk & Luzinski 2 RBI each.
  Tue 5 July   OFF                  
  Wed 6 July   All-Star Game                  
  Thu 7 July   OFF                  
75 Fri 8 July H Milwaukee W 9 2   52-26

Hoyt (10-5)

McClure (9-5)

  Hoyt: CG, 6 hits, 2 ER, 3 BBs & 5 Ks. Hoyt 7th CG in a row.  Cruz, 4-5, 4 SBs, 3 RBI.  Law, V., 2-3, 2 RS, 2 doubles, 3 RBI, Baines, 2-4, 2 RS, double, 3-run HR (10) in 7th.
76 Sat 9 July H Milwaukee L 1 13   52-27 Sutton (11-3) Koosman (4-5)   Kittle, solo HR (7) leading off 7th is the Sox only run.  Tidrow gives up 8 runs in 9th.
77 Sun 10 July H Milwaukee W 3 0   53-27

Dotson (14-1)

Caldwell (7-8)   Dotson, CG, 3-hits, 2 BBs, 6 Ks. Third consecutive shutout in a row, 5th overall.  Solo HRs by Luzinski (9) and Walker (2).  Luzinski's HR wind-aided.  8th team shutout.
78 Mon 11 July H Cleveland W 2 1   54-27

Burns (5-7)

Barker (6-7) Barojas (16) Burns, 8 IP, 5-hits, 1 ER, 2 BBs, 6 Ks. RBI by Dybzinksi and Fisk.
79 Tue 12 July H Cleveland W 4 0   55-27

Bannister (10-6)

Sorensen (7-6)   Bannister, CG, 6-hits, 3 BBs, 4 Ks, 2nd shutout.  Fisk's HR turned into single in 7th.  9th team shutout.
80 Wed 13 July H Cleveland W 3 2   56-27

Lamp (7-2)

Blyleven (2-11)

  Kittle, solo HR (8) leading off 9th for walk off win.
81 Thu 14 July H Toronto L 3 13   56-28 Leal (9-8) Koosman (4-6)   Sox score all 3 runs in 7th.  Baines, solo HR (11), and V. Law, 2-4, 2 run HR (4).
82 Fri 15 July H Toronto L 0 6   56-29 Stieb (16-4) Dotson (14-2)   Sox: 4 hits, 3 BB's, 7 LOB, 9th team shutout.  Dotson, 33 consecutive scoreless innings comes to an end.  Squires, 2-4, double.
83 Sat 16 July H Toronto W 6 5 12 57-29

Lamp (8-2)

Acker (3-2)

  Sox scores winning run in 12th with no outs on hit and run double by Walker.  Walker, 6-6, 2 doubles, HR (3), 3 RBI.
84 Sun 17 July H Toronto W 10 5   58-29

Bannister (11-6)

Alexander (0-2)   Kittle, 2-4, Grand Slam HR (9) in 1st, 2 run double in 5th, 6 RBI.
85 Mon 18 July @ Cleveland W 4 3 10 59-29

Agosto (1-0)

Heaton (3-5)

Barojas (17) Kittle, 2-4, GW single with 2-outs in 10th.  Baines, 5-4, solo HR (12) in 8th.
86 Tue 19 July @ Cleveland W 5 4   60-29

Koosman (5-6)

Sutcliffe (10-7)

  Koosman, CG, 7 hits, 4 ER, 1 BB, 5 K's.  Retires 19 in a row from 2nd-to-8th.  Walker, 2-3, BB, SF, 2-run HR (4) in 5th, 3 RBI (24,25,26)
87 Wed 20 July @ Cleveland L 0 2   60-30 Heaton (4-5) Dotson (14-3) Easterly (4) Sox: 12 hits, 2 BB's, 12 LOB, 10th team shutout. Sox have tying runs on base in 9th but Paciorek grounds into FC to end game.
88 Thu 21 July @ Milwaukee L 4 14   60-31 Haas (11-2) Burns (5-8)   Baines, 2-4, 2 RS, 2 HRs (13 & 14), 3 RBI (47, 48 & 49).
89 Fri 22 July @ Milwaukee                  
90 Sat 23 July @ Milwaukee                  
91 Sun 24 July @ Milwaukee                  
92 Mon 25 July @ Toronto                  
93 Tue 26 July @ Toronto                  
94 Wed 27 July @ Toronto                  
  Thu 28 July   OFF                  
95 Fri 29 July H New York                  
96 Sat 30 July H New York                  
97 Sun 31 July H New York