OAKLAND ATHLETICS 1983

OAKLAND 1983 Schedule - April-to-May

Game

Day

Date

OAK

Opponent

 

RS

RA

INN

Record

Winning Pitcher

Losing Pitcher

Save

Game Notes

48

We

1 June

@

Milwaukee

L

7

8

 

19-29

Gibson (2-0)

Beard (1-2)

Ladd (10)

A's score 6-runs in 2nd

49

Th

2 June

@

Milwaukee

L

1

5

 

19-30

Caldwell (5-5)

Codiroli (2-6)

 

Murphy hits 9th HR with 1-out in 9th to spoil shutout

 

Fri

3 June

 

Rain Out

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

50

Sat

4 June

@

Cleveland

L

5

6

 

19-31

Heaton (2-2)

Baker (1-6)

 

Trailing 5-2, Indians score 4 in 8th

51

Sun

5 June (DH1)

@

Cleveland

L

8

10

 

19-32

Spillner (2-4)

Burgmeier (1-3)

 

Tabler hits 3-run HR in 9th as Indians rally for 4-runs

52

Sun

5 June (DH2)

@

Cleveland

L

3

8

 

19-33

Barker (6-2)

McCatty (2-2)

 

Almon hits 2nd HR in 8th

 

Mon

6 June

 

OFF

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

53 Tue 7 June H Toronto W 5 3   20-33 Norris (4-2) Gott (3-5) Burgmeier (9) Burgmeier saves game with a runner on 2nd & 1-out
54 Wed 8 June H Toronto L 1 10   20-34 Stieb (11-2) Codiroli (2-7)   A's score only run in 3rd on Davis' RBI single after Henderson's triple
55 Thu 9 June H Toronto L 2 7   20-35 Clancy (5-5) Underwood (1-3)   A's score 2 in 9th, prevents shutout
56 Fri 10 Jun H Chicago L 2 4   20-36 Bannister (7-4) Krueger (5-4) Barojas (12) Lopes' 2-out error in 7th lead to 3 White Sox runs
57 Sat 11 Jun H Chicago L 1 7   20-37 Hoyt (6-4) McCatty (2-3)   A's score only run in 6th on Davis' RBI ground out after Henderson's triple
58 Sun 12 Jun (DH1) H Chicago L 1 7   20-38 Dotson (10-1) Keough (1-3)   A's score 1 in 9th, prevents shutout
59 Sun 12 Jun (DH2) H Chicago W 11 8   21-38 Codiroli (3-7) Koosmann (2-3) Burgmeier (10) Athletics score 5 in 8th to lead 11-5
  Mon

13 Jun

 

OFF

                 
60 Tue 14 Jun @ Toronto L 1 3   21-39 Clancy (6-5) Underwood (1-4)   Lansford HR (1) in 8th is A's only run
61 Wed 15 Jun @ Toronto W 3 1   22-39 Krueger (6-4) Leal (4-8) Burgmeier (11) A's only score in 1st inning for all 3-runs
62 Thu 16 Jun @ Toronto W 3 1   23-39 McCatty (3-3) Gott (3-6)   A's score 8-runs in last 3 innings. Hancock, 4-5, 2 2Bs, HR (2), 4 RS
63 Fri 17 Jun @ Chicago W 9 1   24-39 Norris (5-2) Koosmann (2-4)   Kearney 4-5, 2 HRs (8 & 9), 4 RBI; Burroughs 2-4, HR (4), 3 RBI
64 Sat 18 Jun @ Chicago L 2 4   24-40 Bannister (8-4) Codiroli (3-8) Barojas (13) Almon hits solo HR (3) in 7th for 2-1 lead.
65 Sun 19 Jun @ Chicago L 6 9   24-41 Burns (4-6) Underwood (1-5) Lamp (1) A's had early 4-0 lead after 3; Burroughs 3-5, 2B, 2 RBI.
66 Mon 20 Jun @ K. City W 9 3   25-41 Krueger (7-4) Blue (3-5)   A's score 3-runs in 1st thanks to 2 Royals errors.  Henderson safe at 2b on steal attempt when SS drops tag. On H&R, Davis moves to 3rd and scores when catcher moves to 1st to back up pickoff attempt.
67 Tue 21 Jun @ K. City L 5 6 10 25-42 Armstrong (3-1) Conroy (2-4)   RARE PLAY: In 5th, Murphy crashes into wall but holds on to ball and is INJ 5 G. Kearney, 2-5, HR (10), 3 RBI
68 Wed 22 Jun @ K. City W 6 3   26-42 Codiroli (4-8) Gura (3-9)   Down 3-0 in 5th, Kearney's Grand Slam HR (11) gives A's 4-3 lead. Codiroli CG, 6 hits.
  Thu

23 Jun

 

OFF

                 
69 Fri 24 Jun (DH1) @ Texas W 8 1   27-42 Underwood (2-5) Smithson (0-11)   Lopes 3-5, 2 2Bs, 2 RS, 2 SBs, 1 RBI; stole 2b & 3b in 2nd. Has HR ball bounce back into play for 2B in 5th. Underwood CG, 7-hit, 2 BBs, 6 Ks.
70 Fri 24 Jun (DH2) @ Texas L 5 11   27-43 Butcher (3-1) J. Jones (0-1)   Oakland led 5-0 after 4 but loses 11-5.
71 Sat 25 Jun @ Texas W 4 2   28-43 Krueger (8-4) Tanana (6-4) Burgmeier (12) A's score 2 runs each in 1st & 9th innings. Burroughs & Lansford 2 RBI each
72 Sun 26 Jun @ Texas L 3 4   28-44 Darwin (7-8) McCatty (3-4)   Oakland led 3-2 on Hancock's 2-out, 2-run HR (3) in 8th. Davis hits solo HR (2) in 1st.
73 Mon 27 Jun H K. City L 3 6   28-45 Gura (4-9) Callahan (0-2) Quisenberry (14) Lopes, 3-4, solo HR (11)
74 Tue 28 Jun H K. City W 7 4   29-45 Underwood (3-5) Black (5-2) Burgmeier (13) Lopes 3-run HR (12) in 3rd; Lansford 2-run HR (2) in 8th.
75 Wed 29 Jun H K. City L 1 8   29-46 Splittorf (6-0) C. Young (0-1)   A's score their only run in 8th on Lopes' ground out.
76 Thu 30 Jun H K. City W 5 2   30-46 McCatty (4-4) Creel (2-3) Burgmeier (14) Peters 1st HR in 1st that is wind-blown.
77 Fri 1 July H Texas L 5 8   30-47 Darwin (8-8) Callahan (0-3)   Kearney, 3-3, HB, 1 RS. Baker, 6.2 IP in relief, 1 ER.
78 Sat 2 July H Texas L 5 6   30-48 Honeycutt (7-6) Underwood (3-6) Jones (11) Lopes, 2-4, HB (13), Heath, 3-4, double, HR (3), 2 RS.
79 Sun 3 July H Texas W 4 2   31-48 J. Jones (1-1) Hough (4-8) Burgmeier (15) Lopes, 2-run HR (14) in 3rd; Gross hits 1st HR a solo shot in 5th.
80 Mon 4 July H Texas L 4 6   31-49 Smithson (1-11) McCatty (4-5) Jones (12) Henderson, 1-4, 3-run double, SB, RS
  Tue 5 July   OFF                  
  Wed 6 July   All-Star Game                  
  Thu 7 July   OFF                  
81 Fri 8 July @ Detroit L 4 7   31-50 Petry (9-8) Conroy (2-5) Lopez (13) Peters, 3-4, double, RS; Lansford, 2-5, 2-run HR (3) in 1st.  Lopes makes great play with bases loaded with 2-outs to prevent Tigers from scoring (Random play 13, rolled '16' = FC1).
82 Sat 9 July @ Detroit W 4 2 11 32-50 Burgmeier (1-3) Lopez (0-2)   With 2 outs in 9th, Hancock scores on 4-base error by Grubb ties game.  A's score 2 in 11th on Lopes' double and Gross' SF.
83 Sun 10 July @ Detroit L 3 6   32-51 Berenguer (6-4) Codiroli (4-9) Lopez (14) Peters, 2-4, 2 RBI.
84 Mon 11 July @ Baltimore W 13 4   33-51 Baker (2-6) D. Martinez (7-6)   Lansford, 3-6, double, HR (4), 4 RBI.  Murphy, 1-5, 2 RBI HR (1)
85 Tue 12 July @ Baltimore L 1 2   33-52 Ramirez (1-2) Heimueller (0-1) T. Martinez (14) Lopes solo HR (15) gives A's 1-0 lead in 7th.  Heath's PB is game winning run in O's 2-run 7th.
86 Wed 13 July @ Baltimore L 5 7   33-53 Davis (10-6) Conroy (2-6) T. Martinez (15) Hancock, 2-3, 2-run HR (4) in 6th, 2 RS; Gross, 3-5, 2 doubles, RS; Henderson, 2-3, double, 2 BB's, 2 RBI, RS, SB.
87 Thu 14 July @ Boston L 6 8   33-54 Tudor (8-5) McCatty (4-6) Stanley (17) Oakland scores 5 runs in 2nd to lead 5-0.  Henderson, 2-5, 1 RBI, 2 RS, SB.
88 Fri 15 July @ Boston L 2 4   33-55 Hurst (12-4) Codiroli (4-10) Stanley (18) Gross solo HR (7) in 6th.  In 5th, Oakland strands runners on 1st & 3rd with no out with 3 consecutive strike outs.
89 Sat 16 July @ Boston L 2 3 13 33-56 Stanley (5-1) Burgmeier (1-4)   A's fail to score in 8th with runners on 3rd & 1st no-out in 2-2 game. Burgmeier gets out of 1st & 3rd, no outs jam in bottom of 9th.  Two errors by Gross on same play in 13th scores winning run.  With 2-outs and runner on 1st, 1st error allows batter to reach base and then a 2-base throwing error to second trying to get lead runner is wild.
90 Sun 17 July @ Boston W 4 3   34-56 Atherton (1-0) J. Johnson (0-4)   Burroughs hits 2-run HR (5) in 8th ties game at 3.  Peters RBI single scores Page in 9th.
91 Mon 18 July H Detroit W 3 2   35-56 Conroy (3-6) Petry (10-9) Baker (1) Burroughs, 3-3, BB, 2 RBI.  Gross, 2-4, solo HR (8) in 4th. Conroy, 8 IP, 5 hits, 2 ER, 1 BB, 7 K's, WP.
92 Tue 19 July H Detroit W 3 2 10 36-56 Atherton (2-0) Lopez (0-4)   With 2-outs in 10th, Henderson singles, steals second (59) and scores on Hancock's single. Burroughs, 2-4, 2-run double in 4th.
93 Wed 20 July H Detroit L 1 5   36-57 Berenguer (8-4) Codiroli (4-11)   Henderson, 1-4, SB, RS.  Lopes, RBI single in 1st drives in only A's run.
90 Thu 21 July H Baltimore L 2 6   36-58 Mirabella (1-0) Heimueller (4-11) D. Martinez (1) Henderson, 1-4, BB, double, RBI (28). Burroughs, 1-3, BB, RBI (44).
91 Fri 22 July H Baltimore                  
92 Sat 23 July H Baltimore                  
93 Sun 24 July H Baltimore                  
94 Mon 25 July H Boston                  
95 Tue 26 July H Boston                  
96 Wed 27 July H Boston                  
  Thu 28 July   OFF                  
97 Fri 29 July @ California                  
98 Sat 30 July @ California                  
99 Sun 31 July @ California