SEATTLE MARINERS 1983

Game

Day

Date

SEA

Opponent

 

RS

RA

INN

Record

Winning Pitcher

Losing Pitcher

Save

Game Notes

51 We

1 June

@

Cleveland

W

8

7

 

23-28

Perry (6-5)

Blyleven (0-6)

Caudill (10)

D. Henderson, 2-5, 2B 3 RBI

52 Thu

2 June

@

Cleveland

L

1

8

 

23-29

Sutcliffe (7-3)

Stoddard (2-7)

 

RARE PLAY: In 5th, D. Henderson runs into fence & is INJ 4G

53 Fri

3 June

@

New York

W 8 7   24-29

Young (8-3)

Howell (0-2)

Caudill (11)

Mariners score 5 runs in 5th

54 Sat

4 June

@

New York

L

9

10

 

24-30

Frazier (3-2)

Stanton (1-2)

Gossage (9)

Mercado has bases clearing double in 3rd.

55 Sun

5 June

@

New York

L

5

13

 

24-31

Rawley (3-6)

Nelson (1-1)

 

S. Henderson, 3-5, 2 HRs (3, 4), 3 RBI

56

Mon

6 June

@

New York

L

6

7

 

24-32

Frazier (4-2)

Vande Berg (0-3)

Gossage (10)

Zisk, 3-5, 2B, HR (6)  1 RBI

57 Tue 7 June

H

Texas L 3 4 11 24-33 Butcher (3-2) Clark (0-1) Jones (8) D. Henderson, 1-4, HR (7), 1 RBI
58 Wed 8 June

H

Texas W 5 1   25-33

Young (9-3)

Smithson (0-9)

Caudill (12)

Mariners score 4 runs on 2-run HRs by Cowens (4) & T. Cruz (7)
59 Thu 9 June

H

Texas L 0 1   25-34 Hough (2-6) Beattie (2-4)   Tying run stranded at 3b in 9th as Zisk flies out
60 Fri 10 Jun

H

Kansas City L 2 12   25-35

Splittorf (4-0)

Clark (0-2)

  Zisk had HR changed to a single (5=7) in 4th
61 Sat 11 Jun

H

Kansas City L 2 4   25-36

Black (4-0)

Perry (6-6)

Quisenberry (11)

Allen strikes out with bases loaded in 9th
62 Sun 12 Jun

H

Kansas City L 5 7   25-37

Gura (2-8)

Abbott (0-1)

Quisenberry (12)

D. Henderson, 1-4, HR (8), 2 RBI

63 Mon 13 Jun @ Texas L 6 7   25-38 Matlack (3-2) Stanton (1-3)   Mariners hit 3 HRs; S. Henderson 2 (5, 6) & Putnam (14). Stanton allows 4 runs in 9th
64 Tue 14 Jun @ Texas W 3 2   26-38 Beattie (3-4) Hough (2-7) Caudill (13) Putnam, 1-4, HR (15), 2 RBI.
65 Wed 15 Jun @ Texas L 2 5   26-39 Tanana (6-2) Stoddard (2-8)   Maler 2-4, 3B, 2B, 2 RBI.
  Thu 16 Jun   OFF                  
66 Fri 17 Jun @ Kansas City L 1 5   26-40

Gura (3-8)

Perry (6-7)

 

S. Henderson 7th HR in 6th gives Mariners 1-0 lead.

67 Sat 18 Jun @ Kansas City W 3 2   27-40 Abbott (1-1) Black (4-1) Caudill (14) Mariners score 3-runs in 4th to give Black 1st loss.  Zisk, 3-4, 1 R, 1 RBI.
68 Sun 19 Jun @ Kansas City W 4 3   28-40 Young (10-3) Armstrong (2-2) Caudill (15) Sweet's RBI single scores Cowens from 2nd in 8th breaks 3-3 tie.
69 Mon 20 Jun @ Chicago W 2 1   29-40 Beattie (4-4) Hoyt (7-5) Vande Berg (6) Zisk's RBI single scores Bernazard from 2nd in 9th breaks 1-1 tie. Nelson, solo HR (5).
70 Tue 21 Jun @ Chicago L 2 3   29-41

Dotson (11-1)

Thomas (1-3)

 

Zisk, 1-4, HR (7), 1 RBI

71 Wed

22 Jun

@ Chicago L 3 6   29-42

Koosman (3-4)

Perry (6-8)

Tidrow (1)

Zisk, 2-4, HR (8), 2 RBI; Clark 5.1 IP of scoreless relief.

72 Thu 23 Jun H Toronto L 1 8   29-43

Clancy (7-7)

Abbott (1-2)

  RARE PLAY: In 8th, D. Henderson runs into fence again & is INJ 5G. Third time this season Henderson has been INJ for 14 G.
73 Fri 24 Jun H Toronto L 1 6   29-44

Leal (6-8)

Young (10-4)

  Allen, 0-3, SF in 7th scores only Mariner run.
74 Sat 25 Jun H Toronto W 11 7   30-44 Beattie (5-4) Gott (4-7) Thomas (2) Mariners score 7-runs in 3rd.  Mercado, 1-4, 4 RBI.
75 Sun 26 Jun H Toronto L 1 5   30-45

Acker (3-0)

Stoddard (2-9)

  Putnam lead off single in 7th is only Mariner hit. Putnam later scores on S. Henderson's FC.
76 Mon 27 Jun H Chicago L 1 5   30-46

Tidrow (3-0)

Caudill (1-2)

Barojas (15) Putnam, 2-4, RBI single in 5th gives Mariners 3-2 lead.
77 Tue 28 Jun H Chicago W 7 5   31-46 Abbott (2-2) Bannister (9-5) Vande Berg (7) Putnam, 2-4, 2 HRs (16 & 17), 5 RBI. RARE PLAY: In 1st, Cowens runs into fence & is INJ - 13G.
78 Wed 29 Jun H Chicago W 7 1   32-46 Young (11-4) Burns (4-7)   Putnam, 2-4, 2B, 2 RBI; Allen, 3-4, SB, HR (2), 2 RBI
  Thu 30 Jun   OFF                  
79 Fri 1 July

@

Toronto W 6 3   33-46 Beattie (6-4) Gott (4-8)   Zisk, 4-4, double, walk, 1 RS, 2 RBI.
80 Sat 2 July

@

Toronto W 12 5   34-46 Moore (2-3) Acker (3-1)   Putnam, 4-5, HR (18), 3 RBI, 2 RS. Moses, 3-4, double, 3 RBI.
81 Sun 3 July

@

Toronto L 2 6   34-47

Stieb (15-3)

Abbott (2-3)   Sweet, bases loaded double, 2 RBI for Mariners' only runs in 5th.
  Mon 4 July

@

Toronto RAIN OUT         Rescheduled for 19 September (Monday)
  Tue 5 July   OFF                  
  Wed 6 July   All-Star Game                  
  Thu 7 July   OFF                  
82 Fri 8 July

@

Baltimore W 7 4   35-47 Beattie (7-4) Davis (9-6)   Mariners score 5 runs in 7th and takes 7-3 lead. First 7 batters reach base on 3 singles, 3 doubles & 1 triple.
83 Sat 9 July

@

Baltimore L 4 6   35-48

McGregor (12-3)

Abbott (2-4) T. Martinez (13) Zisk, 2-3, BB, HR (9), 2 RS, 2 RBI.
84 Sun 10 July

@

Baltimore L 0 4   35-49

Boddicker (8-2)

Young (11-5)   Mariners, 4 hits, 7 LOB. 8th time Mariners have been shutout this season.
85 Mon 11 July

@

Boston L 2 4   35-50

Ojeda (9-3)

Moore (2-4) Stanley (16) Allen, 1-3, RBI double in 2nd gives Mariners 1-0 lead in 2nd.  D. Henderson, 1-3, RBI single in 3rd.
86 Tue 12 July

@

Boston L 3 15   35-51

Brown (5-7)

Clark (0-3)   Moses, 3-4.  Mariners commit 4 errors, 8 of 15 runs are unearned.
87 Wed 13 July

@

Boston L 0 4   35-52

Eckersley (4-8)

Beattie (7-5)   Mariners, 11 hits; 9th time Mariners have been shutout this season.  Putnam, 3-4.
88 Thu 14 July H Detroit W 5 3 10 36-52 Caudill (2-2) Lopez (0-3)   Zisk hits 2-run walk off HR (10) in 10th with no outs.  S. Henderson 2-run HR (8) with 2-outs in 9th ties game.  RARE PLAY: In 9th, one Hit & Run, Vande Berg is INJ - 1G.
89 Fri 15 July H Detroit L 1 4   36-53

Berenguer (7-4)

Young (11-6) Lopez (17) Mariners, 3 hits, 4 BB's, 15 K's, 6 LOB.  Allen, solo HR (3) in 4th.
90 Sat 16 July H Detroit L 2 14   36-54

Rozema (4-6)

Moore (2-5)   Putnam, 2 solo HR's (19 & 20) in 2nd and 4th.
91 Sun 17 July H Detroit L 0 5   36-55

Wilcox (11-5)

Clark (0-4)   Mariners, 4 hits, 8 LOB; 10th time Mariners have been shutout this season.
92 Mon 18 July H Baltimore L 2 10   36-56 Davis (11-6) Beattie (7-6)   Putnam, solo HR (21) in 2nd. Stoddard, 3 scoreless IP in relief.
93 Tue 19 July H Baltimore W 5 4   37-56 Thomas (2-3) McGregor (13-4)   Mariners score 3 runs in 7th, on Allen's RBI double & S. Henderson's 2-run double.  Zisk, 2-run triple in 1st.
94 Wed 20 July H Baltimore W 5 4   38-56 Vande Berg (1-3) T, Martinez (1-5)   Moses singles home Cowens from 3rd in bottom of 9th to win game.  Putnam, 2-run HR (22) in 4-run 6th.
95 Thu 21 July H Boston L 1 10   38-57 Ojeda (10-3) Moore (2-6)   Mariners, 4 hits, 3 LOB.  D. Henderson, solo HR (9) in 8th, RBI (41)
96 Fri 22 July H Boston                  
97 Sat 23 July H Boston                  
98 Sun 24 July H Boston                  
  Mon 25 July   OFF                  
99 Tue 26 July

@

Detroit                  
100 Wed 27 July

@

Detroit                  
101 Thu 29 July

@

Detroit                  
102 Fri 29 July

@

Minnesota                  
103 Sat 30 July

@

Minnesota                  
104 Sun 31 July

@

Minnesota